Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

·18-min read

You know we love our skincare and makeup at Vanilla Luxury! Each month, as we discover a world of skincare and makeup brands - both local and international - we try, test and tell on these beauties. Check out which beauty products we tried along with what we personally loved about each of them.

April Beauty Product Reviews

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

GLAMGLOW Superwatergel Triple-Acid Oil-Free Moisturizer


GLAMGLOW® was originally designed exclusively for Hollywood actors who needed red carpet-ready skin in a hurry. Today, the brand has grown to become a fast-acting, solutions oriented skincare brand that works wonders for your complexion. The GLAMGLOW Superwatergel Triple-Acid Oil-Free Moisturizer is a lightweight water gel moisturizer for acne-prone skin that instantly hydrates, clarifies and controls shine without instigating new breakouts for clearer, healthier-looking skin.

It comes with hyaluronic acid and glycerin microdroplets, which burst on contact to provide instant and 24-hour hydration. It also helps strengthen the skin's barrier and smoothen-out the look of pores. A triple-acid blend provides gentle yet effective doses of Salicylic Acid, Glycolic Acid and Pyruvic Acid, to keep the complexion clear, and healthier-looking.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: Minty, lightweight and perfect for oily to combination skin types, this is a moisturiser that’s made for the tropics! We even recommend it for men who need hydration without the tacky feel of moisturiser after. If you’ve got acne worries or need a hydrating product that deeply nourishes without the adding to oiliness on your skin, this is a keeper. What can we say - we’re in love!

GLAMGLOW Superwatergel is available for S$85 at Sephora.sg.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Fenty Beauty Eaze Drop Blurring Skin Tint

Your skin but better? The new Fenty Beauty Eaze drop offers light to medium coverage for all skin tones - all while blending, blurring and providing light as air perfection to your skin.

As the brand’s first light-to-medium coverage complexion product that leaves skin with an instantly flawless filtered effect and natural, soft blur finish.

In addition to its effortless texture, application and finish, it contains Fenty Beauty’s proprietary Quick Blur Complex to diffuse the look of pores and wrinkles for a flawless and smoothing effect. The formula also contains sodium hyaluronate to nourish skin and leave it feeling soft, smooth and hydrated. It’s non-comedogenic, so it won’t clog pores, cake up or settle into fine lines.

Thanks to its versatile formula and light-to-medium coverage, Eaze Drop is available in 25 flexible shades that cover all 50 shades of the Fenty Pro Filt’r range. So, if you already know your number in one of their existing Pro Filt’r Foundations, you can easily find your perfect Eaze Drop match!

Vanilla Luxury Raves: Want a makeup formula that lasts in this heat and humidity? Like all Fenty Beauty complexion products, this formula too, is sweat, humidity and transfer resistant! It's a nifty little bottle with an easy dispensing system - add just enough for subtle coverage or more to layer to your preferred level. Particularly useful for those of us who enjoy their makeup light and airy!

Fenty Eaze Drop is available for S$45 at Sephora.sg.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

WISHFUL Thirst Trap Juice HA 3 & Peptide Serum

Those of you who remember how much Huda loved the WISHFUL Thirst Trap Cocoon Mask, will be pleased to know that she’s bottled the same formula as a serum now! One day, on a long-haul flight, after having used the last Thirst Trap Cocoon Mask she had, Huda found that her mask was still dripping with juice. She squeezed every last drop of its hydrating elixir and applied it every hour for the duration of her flight, which then inspired her to create a serum based on her Thirst Trap essence. Packed with even more hyaluronic acid and skin-firming peptides, now you can use the goodness of Thirst Trap over and over again!

Prepare for instant and long-lasting hydration with this potent formula that gives an immediate dewy glow as well as reparative long-term results. Jam-packed with skin-boosting ingredients to firm, strengthen and leave skin bouncy and supple, this all-star serum will give your skin a radiant glow like never before! Combining plumping peptides to the new formula, which work to stimulate collagen and elastin production for firm, you’ll also find Aloe Vera that leaves your skin soothed and nourished.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: If you’re after a glass of water for your skin, the WISHFUL Thirst Trap Juice is just what you want! The hydration formula is light-not tacky and comes with a loadfull of benefits for your skin - working slowly, but surely deep inside. We love anything that works for this humid weather, and The Thirst Trap gets full points for an easy to use, lightweight serum that delivers.

WISHFUL Thirst Trap Juice HA 3 & Peptide Serum is available for S$79 at Sephora.sg.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Re:erth Rejuvenating Hand Cream

Nourish your skin in a layer of lasting moisture with rich ingredients to restore elasticity, diminish wrinkles, and soften your hardworking hands. The Re:erth Rejuvenating Hand Cream softens and deeply moisturizes your hands at multiple levels while simultaneously restoring your skin's elasticity and diminishing the appearance of wrinkles.

The unique Lamellar technology deeply moisturizes and protects your skin, with no stickiness. Its rich nourishing effect is long-lasting and retains even after hand washing and sanitizing throughout the day. Using Pure Retinol, it increases skin rejuvenation and improves skin elasticity and smoothness, while refining tone and texture.

Nano-encapsulation in LIPODISQ® allows for deeper penetration to skin with no skin irritation at all. Japanese White Turmeric is another superfood that increases natural Hyaluronic Acid protection by up to 100%, cell activity by up to 61% and gives skin a firmer, more supple texture.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: Are you looking for a treat for your over-worked hands? Light texture, with no stickiness after, you’ll literally see a nourishing overlay barrier take on your hands - we even compared between our two to see! The indulgent hand cream will make your hands look less wrinkled and well-nourished. This is a nice treat for someone who is looking to enhance the appearance of their hands or just a special gift for a close loved one.

Re:erth Rejuvenating Hand Cream is available for S$60 at Re:erth.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

BSKIN Flawless Finish Perfecting Loose Powder

If constant mask-wearing in our hot humidity has you (and your skin) frazzled, join the club. Excess sebum and sweat means that our foundation is constantly smearing on our face masks, but regular powder makeup tends to dehydrate the skin's surface, causing clogged pores and the dreaded maskne.

The new BSKIN Flawless Finish Perfecting Loose Powder has been all the rave recently. This skin-perfecting and nourishing loose powder is infused with anti-ageing bee actives such as honey and royal jelly that bestow a naturally luminous and protected complexion all day. As a makeup-and-skincare hybrid, the BSKIN Flawless Finish Perfecting Loose Powder helps smoothen out uneven skin tone and controls shine without clogging pores.

In line with BSKIN's clean formulation philosophy, the product is mindfully created without parabens, sulfates and artificial fragrances. In addition, the bee actives in BSKIN skincare are sustainably sourced to ensure that no harm is done to the precious bees that power BSKIN's high-performance skincare.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: We love how this product is makeup and skincare all in one. The BSKIN Flawless Finish Perfecting Loose Powder also contains Titanium dioxide, a physical mineral sunscreen, which provides UV protection for the skin, making it the perfect final step in your beauty routine!

BSKIN Flawless Finish Perfecting Loose Powder is available for S$49 exclusively online at www.bskin.com.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Caudalie Vinoclean Range

When it comes to perfecting your skincare routine, cleansing is an essential step towards healthier looking skin. The dirty truth is that most cleansers on the market contain synthetic ingredients and harsh irritants derived from petrochemicals and have non-sustainable packaging.

Packaged in bottles made from 100% recycled plastic with zero waste, these eco-conscious cleansers by Caudalie are 100% clean on the outside as they are on the inside. Indulgent, gentle, yet super-efficient, each one is formulated with 97% to 100% of natural-origin ingredients, leaving you with cleaner skin and a greener planet.

The Vinoclean range consists of the Micellar Cleansing Water, Cleansing Almond Milk, Moisturising Toner, Makeup Removing Cleansing Oil, and Instant Foaming Cleanser.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: The Caudalie Vinoclean Instant Foam Cleanser is one of our favourites with its airy foam texture wrapping our skin in softness. Its vine flower fragrance - a combination of floral notes of rose, white wood, watermelon, violet leaves and pink peppercorn - also smells divine!

Caudalie Vinoclean Range is available for S$35 at Sephora.sg.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Codex Beauty Bia Skin Superfood

Codex Beauty Labs, the plant-based biotech beauty brand brings to our tropical shores, a new and important beauty vertical: Biotech Beauty.

With an increased global concern on environmental impacts and sustainability of natural resources, the science of beauty biotechnology has been gaining importance in recent years. Codex Beauty Labs leads this revolution by focusing on using plants versus fossil fuels to produce bioactives in sustainable ways and ideate ‘plant-based biotech beauty’ that minimises overall carbon footprint. As a commitment to their mission, they also partner with local organic producers and develop proprietary high-tech manufacturing practices. The publicly published efficacy panels on all new product labels demonstrate the brand’s transparency with consumers.

Codex Beauty Bia Skin Superfood is a hydrating and nourishing treatment cream for face, hands and body made with plant extracts -a unique BiaComplex herbal formula - that helps treat dry, flaky or irritated skin and leaves it silky smooth.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: For those of us who have been obsessively washing our hands in these pandemic times and leaving the skin really dry, this rich cream provides great hydration.

Codex Beauty Bia Skin Superfood is available for S$86 on their website, Lazada and Shopee.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Milani Cosmetics Rose Collection

Milani has launched its new Rose Collection containing all the essentials that you need to clean, prep and quench your skin with moisture, ensuring that you have a hydrated base for your foundation to glide on smoothly. Think of it as giving yourself a mini facial before you bring in the big makeup guns!

Petal power your routine with this luxurious fragrant collection that is infused with rose oil, loaded with tons of benefits for your skin. From replenishing moisture to protecting your skin with its anti-inflammatory properties, each product features a unique blend of hard-working ingredients that deliver hydrated, renewed and revitalized skin.

To start off your makeup look with a fresh, clean canvas, use Milani’s Rose Lotion Primer or the all-natural Rosewater Hydrating Mist as a makeup priming spray. Experience the power of the petal with the Rose Face Oil, which tones and hydrates the skin.

Not forgetting your lips - the Rose Transforming Lip Balm deeply nourishes, conditions and protects lips from environmental damage. Check out the Rose Butter Lip Mask and Rose Sugar Lip Scrub for hydrated, smooth and ultra-soft lips.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: The Milani Rose Face Oil is perfect for drier skin. Just mix a few drops with your foundation and concealer, making application really easy and your look more luminous.

Milani Rose Face Oil is available for S$30 exclusively at Watsons and the Watsons E-store.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

OASIS: SKIN

With sustainability being at the core of the brand, OASIS: announces the opening of their second space - an eco-friendly provision store in the cultural neighbourhood of Joo Chiat.

The brick-and-mortar store homes a variety of freshly made refillable vegan beauty products, locally crafted in their Beauty Kitchen. From package-free solid shampoos and conditioners to soap flakes and even household cleaning liquids, the store will feature anything and everything to get you started on your sustainability journey.

The DIY corner is a brand new key feature where you can take home a customized eco-friendly beauty and household product and experience personalising your ingredients from the in-house bulk store.

For those on a tight schedule, a curbside drive-through allows for pre-ordered products to be picked up from the comfort of your vehicles. Alternatively, if you live within 3km of the store, you can opt for a zero-carbon bike delivery of your products right to your doorstep. In the aims of reducing package waste, the provision store also serves as a collection point for recycled boxes and bubble wrap for OASIS: e-commerce deliveries.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: We love this local beauty brand for its sustainability efforts. Bring your own reusable bags and containers, and come on by to stock up on your essentials at the OASIS: Provision Store.


March Beauty Product Reviews

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Chantecaille Spring 2021 Makeup Collection

With its 2021 Spring Collection, Chantecaille is proudly supporting the Butterfly and Insect Group of the Nature Society Singapore (NSS) to safeguard the declining population of Singapore's national butterfly, the Common Rose.

The Butterfly Collection is inspired by the shimmer and splendour of a butterfly's wings and features the Butterfly Eye Quartet shadow palette and limited-edition 3 Lip Chic hues. Like all other Chantecaille products, these too come with no Phthalates, Sulphate Detergents, Mineral Oil and GMOs. Chantecaille will donate 5% of the sales proceeds from the Spring 2021 Makeup Collection and Bio Lifting Serum (Butterfly Limited Edition) to NSS to support its conservation efforts.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: The limited-edition Lip Chic shades take moisture very seriously! Offering long-lasting hydration, just the right amount of colour, and the signature magnetic click, we are enjoying every bit of these beauties.

Should you want to flaunt a makeup palette in your bag, the Butterfly Eye Quartet shadow palette was made for it! A collectable, limited-edition compact with four gently shimmering formulas—satin, shimmer and chrome pearl—make it perfect to mix and match as you like, and when you want!

Available from S$48 on Chantecaille.com.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Becca Light Shifter Dewing Tint

A tinted moisturizer that gives a sheer, dewy, luminous finish, Becca’s Light Shifter Dewing Tint is weightless in coverage. Light Shifting Pigments reflect and diffuse light, providing multi-dimensional luminosity while Hyaluronic Acid moisturizes skin instantly and Squalane, Vitamin E, and Glycerin nourish.

Vitamin E also helps to protect against environmental damage, including pollution and blue light. Coverage is pretty sheer and shades are flexible so there are ample choices for all skin tones.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: The gel-like texture, dries to a sheer finish giving a lit-from-within look. If you enjoy subtler coverage but are constantly seeking that glow, this incredibly dewy tint was made for you. Extra points for being vegan, cruelty-free and PETA certified!

Becca Light Shifter Dewing Tint is available for S$47.00 at Sephora.sg.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

OriginsTM Mega-Mushroom Soothing Hydra-Mist

Origins expands its famed mushroom-infused franchise with an on-the-go mist with mega-hydrating benefits that instantly helps boost skin’s moisture, plumpness and luminosity!

Dr. Andrew Weil for OriginsTM Mega-Mushroom Soothing Hydra-Mist is powered by Reishi, Hyaluronic Acid, and our latest ingredient Tremella Mushroom (also known as Snowy Mushroom), which can hold more than 7x of its water weight, leaving skin feeling moisturized, calm and refreshed – even if your surrounding climate changes.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: We tried this micro-fine mist on both our bare skin or over makeup and it is the perfect solution to soothe and hydrate skin anytime, anywhere!

The Origins™ Mega-mushroom Soothing Hydra-mist is available for S$46 at Sephora.sg.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Limited Edition Goodies by Lush

Valentine’s Day may well be over, but there’s no reason to stop the love! Blow kisses, with Lush’s super-cute lip-shaped bubble bar to create crimson waters, full of uplifting bergamot and fruity davana oil bubbles. Or try the limited edition, Prince Charming shower gel that contains fresh pomegranate juice to seduce your senses while marshmallow root rescues your skin. Want a bath bomb that may be too pretty to use? A treat to yourself or someone else, the Love Me Do bath bomb gives deep red water filled with the scent of rose from Lush’s regenerative buying project in Pakistan.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: First off, we had no idea that the bubble bars by Lush were re-usable! This means you can use as much or as little as you like and save the rest to dry and use again. The Love Me Do bath bomb is as pretty as it is fragrant! Release into a bathtub and watch the colours unfurl. Better still, once you're done, the muslin cloth it comes wrapped in can be composted! A special treat for both you and the planet.

These limited edition lovelies are available from S$18 onwards on sg.lush.com.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Cellreturn Therapy Advanced Lifting Neck Cream

Days of sticking to face care may well be over - it is time to start taking care of your neck too! Korean company Cellreturn are known for their breakthrough beauty gadgets and what they call solutions to get K-Star porcelain skin.

Their Cellreturn Therapy Advanced Lifting Neck Cream is formulated to fill the skin on your neck, from the inside out. Full of moisture and nutrition, the pink cream restores time by improving on wrinkles and brightening the neck area.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: A product designed just for the delicate neck area was worth trying! We found the texture moisturising, with just enough thickness to not get sticky. Results around wrinkles and neck lines could possibly take longer to show, but being able to provide the neck with suitable hydration, made all the difference from week 1 of use.

Cellreturn Therapy Advanced Lifting Neck Cream is available for S$160.50 on the Cellreturn website.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Handmade Heroes Cocolicious Luscious Lip Mask with Bakuchiol

Pamper your lips with the all-nighter Cocoliscious Lip Mask with Bakuchiol and wake up to luscious, supple and rejuvenated lips. Natural yet powerful, the Bakuchiol Lip Mask boost collagen production evens out hyperpigmentation and targets fine lines around the lips with all-natural superstar ingredients.

Ingredients include Avocado oil, Jojoba seed oil, Mango seed butter, hyaluronic acid and Bakuchiol extract. Bakuchiol extract is an alternative to retinol, that naturally stimulates the skin to produce collagen and increases skin cell turnover.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: We love beauty products that can be used in the day and night. This product is perfect as a daily morning lip balm and night sleeping lip mask for extra nourishment.

The Cocoliscious Lip Mask with Bakuchiol is available for S$14.90 on the Handmade Heroes website.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Sephora Collection Mini Pocket Eyeshadow Palette

These mini eyeshadow palettes by Sephora Collection come in shades that mix and match to create endless looks. Choice of silky matte, metallic and glitter, you can literally play all day or night!

Aside from being pocket-friendly, the palette offers shades that have been curated to work easily together to create easy, wearable eye makeup looks. Combine shades from different palettes to achieve interesting looks with different colour families. 4 different versions at easy on the wallet prices, also mean you can stretch your makeup fund that much further!

Vanilla Luxury Raves: Bright, beautiful and easy to use shades, give buildable coverage for eyeshadow noobs. We love the cutesy size, that’s easy to carry around and at that price, we’ll have all 4, thank you!

Sephora Collection Mini Pocket Eyeshadow Palette is available for S$22 on Sephora.sg.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Dr Dennis Gross Exfoliating Body Treatment

An all-over body towel packed with Alpha Beta® acids, enzymes, and bakuchiol to instantly polish and visibly firm skin. This perfectly dosed treatment lifts away the outer layer of dead skin, delivers long-lasting hydration and helps improve the appearance of ingrown hairs.

Begin application with a folded towel on clean, dry skin. Gently massage into the skin. As the towel begins to dry, unfold and move to other body zones. Continue until the towel is completely dry.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: It’s like a facial for your full body! If you have dull, dry skin, this product is especially useful for exfoliating rough and dry patches on your skin such as on knees and elbows. Antioxidant-rich squalane and aloe help soothe and strengthen skin’s moisture barrier.

Dr Dennis Gross is available for S$90 for 8 treatment towels on Sephora.sg.

Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021
Skincare and Makeup Review: Our Favourite Tried and Tested Products for April 2021

Frank Body Brightening Vitamin C Mask

An active Brightening Vitamin C Mask that multitasks. Natural and cruelty-free, it is packed with Vitamin C rich Kakadu Plum to reveal your brightest, clearest skin. The face mask dissolves your top layer of dead, dull, damaged skin with papaya and pineapple extract, along with lactic, glycolic, and salicylic acids.

A sophisticated formula, Vitamin C and acids are good for acne, hyperpigmentation, scarring, and fine lines. You don’t need that overpriced serum or beauty filter. With active AHAs, it’s the best Vitamin C mask for fading acne scars.

Vanilla Luxury Raves: We’re not the only ones raving about this amazing beauty product! Just take a look at their numerous positive reviews and you’ll see that lots of people have experienced brightened skin after continued use of this mask. We love that we even saw a visible difference in acne scars and dark spots.

Frank Body Brightening Vitamin C Mask is available for S$46 as part of the Vitamin Sea Skincare Kit on Sephora.sg.

Read our exciting beauty reviews for February here.

Vanilla Luxury
Vanilla Luxury