'Goblin' wins big at Korea Cable TV Awards Show, but not Gong Yoo

Goblin (Viu)

With four wins at the Korea Cable TV Awards (KCTA) Show 2017 on Friday (10 March), hit Korean drama “Goblin” was undoubtedly the biggest winner of the night.

However, the actor who played the drama’s titular character, Gong Yoo, was not among the prize winners.

He lost the Best Actor prize to Yoo Ji-tae, the main lead in “The Good Wife”, the Korean remake of the popular American TV series starring Julianna Margulies.

Yoo Ji-tae beat Gong Yoo to take home the Best Actor award for

“Goblin” won Best Drama for the TV category as well as the video-on-demand category.

A hit at home as well as abroad, the actors who starred in the drama, as well as the singers who contributed to the soundtrack, have enjoyed immense popularity.

Singer Ailee won an award for Best Drama Theme Song/Soundtrack for her single “I Will Go to You Like the First Snow” (첫눈처럼 너에게 가겠다), which was released on 7 Jan 2017.

Ailee won the Best Drama Theme Song for

Yook Sung-jae, who played the nephew of Gong Yoo’s character, Yoo Deok-hwa, bagged the Rising Star award (Acting).

Yook Sung-jae of BtoB won the Rising Star award (Acting) (Photo: Star N News)

The 21-year-old actor and member of K-pop group BtoB also joined his bandmates on-stage to receive the Hallyu Star award that night.

While Gong Yoo might not have won an award, he definitely made fans’ hearts melt in “Goblin”.

Relive the most romantic moments of the hit K-drama here, and try not to resist re-watching “Goblin” online on Viu.

Check out some of the other winners of the KCTA Show 2017:

Best Drama (TV category) – Goblin

Best Drama (video-on-demand category) – Goblin

Best Entertainment/Comedy Program (TV category) – Weekly Idol

Best Global Show (TV category) – 2016 Mnet Asian Music Awardsi

Best Actor – Yoo Ji-tae (The Good Wife)

Best Couple award – Kim Ji-suk and Ye Ji-won (tvN’s “Another Oh Hae Young”)

Most Popular/Popularity wward – Kim Ji-seok

Rising Star award (MC) – Hani of EXID

Rising Star award (Acting) – Yook Sung-jae of BtoB (Goblin)

Artist Of The Year award – TWICE

Hallyu Star award – BtoB

Best Trot Singer – Tae Jin-ah

Best Performance award – Seventeen

Best Drama Theme Song – Ailee for”I Will Go to You Like the First Snow” (첫눈처럼 너에게 가겠다) (Goblin)

Style Icon award – Han Hye-jin, Kim Joo-ri

Beauty Icon award – Han Chae-young

Best Entertainment MC – Jung Hyeong-don and Defconn (for Weekly Idol)

Follow Yahoo Lifestyle Singapore on Facebook.