Jed Madela, Sarah Geronimo lead 3rd PMPC Star Awards for Music winners

Kapamilya artists Jed Madela and Sarah Geronimo were proclaimed Male and Female Recording Artist of the Year at the 3rd PMPC Star Awards for Music held last night, October 16, at the Henry Lee Irwin Theater in Quezon City.

Madela also received the Revival Album of the Year for his record “The Classics Album.”

“Star Power” victor Angeline Quinto was also a big winner last year as she claimed the award for New Female Recording Artist of the Year for her self-titled debut album and Song of the Year for her debut single “Patuloy ang Pangarap.”

Meanwhile, rock band Siakol received the Album of the Year and the Rock Album of the Year citation for their “Siakol Tropa.” They were also named Rock Artist of the Year.

Toni Gonzaga was named Female Pop Artist of The Year award for her album “All Me,” while Piolo Pascual (“Decades 2”) and Gerald Santos (“Pinakahihintay”) tied for the Male Pop Artist of The Year.

Kapuso teen star Jake Vargas was named New Male Recording Artist of the Year for his album “Ngiti.”

Willie Revillame received three awards: Novelty Artist of the Year and Novelty Album of the Year for the “Willing Willie” album and Novelty Song of the Year for “Tantaran.”

The Superstar honored

The Superstar Nora Aunor also received two awards from the PMPC: the Lifetime Achievement Award for Music and one of the 15 Icons of Original Pilipino Music citation.

During her acceptance speech, Nora promised she'd do a concert next year after she gets her throat fixed in America.

“Hindi ko alam pero ramdam na ramdam ko yung karangalan na binigay sa akin ng PMPC. Sa lahat ng mga fans, hindi man ako makakanta sa kasalukuyan dahil may nangyari sa boses ko, sa pagbabalik kong bumili, magkakaroon pa tayo ng isang concert na gaganapin sa Araneta,” she told the audience.

The other OPM Icons honored were Sylvia la Torre, the UP Madrigal Singers, Victor Wood, Mike Hanopil and Pepe Smith of the Juan dela Cruz Band, Freddie Aguilar, and Celeste Legazpi.

Completing the list are: Ryan Cayabyab, Basil Valdez, Jose Mari Chan, and Jim Paredes, Boboy Garovillo, and Danny Javier.

Other winners:

Rap Album of the Year: “Talumpati,” Gloc 9
Rap Artist of the Year: Gloc 9
Album Cover Design of the Year: “Decades 2,” Piolo Pascual
Compilation Album of the Year: “George Canseco Works”
Acoustic Album of the Year: “In You,” Nyoy Volante
Male Acoustic Artist of the Year: Cesar Montano (“Cesar Montano”)
Female Acoustic Artist of the Year: Sabrina (“I Love Acoustics 3”)
Alternative Album of the Year: “RPG Metanoia”
Dance Album of the Year: “Showtime The Album”
Music Video of the Year: “Walang Natira,” Gloc 9
Duo/Group of the Year: Sakto, composed of Edgar Allan Guzman, Rodjun Cruz, and Lucky Mercado (“Sakto”)