What is a fixed sign? What you need to know about the zodiac's loyal BFFs

What is a fixed sign? What you need to know about the zodiac's loyal BFFs

You probably know your sun sign, but do you know your sign’s modality? In astrology, the zodiac signs are divided into three categories, called qualities or modalities: cardinal, fixed, and mutable signs. The modalities are one way to help us understand each sign’s vibe. The four fixed signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius. (The mutable signs are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces, and the cardinal signs are Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn.)

Fixed signs fall in the middle of a season — Taurus in the middle of spring, Leo in summer, Scorpio in autumn, and Aquarius in winter. So it makes sense that they’re the “stabilisers” of the zodiac. Fixed signs are the BFFs you can always rely on, the ones who will help you move and bring you ice cream after a breakup. They’re also super creative, and once they have an idea, they’ll see it through to the end. Dedicated and artistic? Yeah, they’re great!

However, these loyal signs also share a few not-so-positive traits — namely, they’re stubborn AF. If they’ve made up their minds, good luck getting them to change their opinion. They’ll fight for their beliefs — and good luck getting them to admit when they’re wrong.

If you’re an astro fan, you might have noticed there’s one fixed sign per element. Taurus is an earth sign, Leo is a fire sign, Scorpio is a water sign, and Aquarius is an air sign. Each of the fixed signs also forms either a square or an opposition with each other. These are two special kind of angles, which in astrology are called aspects.

Squares are associated with tense energy, while oppositions are, well, opposite — think of a magnetic-like attraction. Taurus forms an opposition with Scorpio and a square with Leo and Aquarius; Leo forms an opposition with Aquarius and a square with Taurus and Scorpio; Scorpio forms an opposition with Taurus and a square with Leo and Aquarius; and Aquarius forms an opposition with Leo and a square with Taurus and Scorpio. Signs that form an opposition with each other (like Taurus and Scorpio or Leo and Aquarius) are also called sister signs.

What do each of the fixed signs mean?


You’ve probably heard the quote “Don’t mess with the bull or you’ll get the horns.” TBH, it’s kinda true. Taurus is slow to anger, but once you sting them, they see red and charge. The bull is patient, kind, and loyal. Plus, they are ~sensual~ and have an eye for luxury. Their hardworking, artistic vibes make up for their stubbornness. Just don’t try to pick a fight about paint colours.


These cool cats and kittens like to start drama when they’re bored, but it’s mostly just an experiment to see what the outcome will be. Yes, Leos are extra, and they’re proud of it. Their 24/7 theatrics can be a bit much to some, but their saving grace is their generous, loyal hearts. They’re the star of every show and the loyal friend at the heart of every social circle.


As the only fixed water sign, Scorpios will use their stingers to protect themselves from those who might harm them. Their brooding intensity and intuition is unmatched by any other sign. These passionate Scorps are problem-solvers, and they’re so strong-willed that they always make sure their to-do lists are completed to perfection. Their sleuth-y, secretive nature makes them one to watch out for. Don’t cross them!


As the last fixed sign of the zodiac, the water bearer is the community organiser of the fixed signs. Aquarius uses their intelligence to develop their beliefs and share them with the world. Once this air sign has formed an ideal, they’ll see it as a universal truth that must be spread. These humanitarians are so focused on solving all the world’s problems that they can seem a little aloof, but they value their close relationships — they’re just not the life of the party. That’s Leo’s job, after all.

You Might Also Like