"Fan Girl" wins big at 2020 MMFF

Heidi Hsia
·2-min read

28 Dec – Antoinette Jadaone's "Fan Girl" was named the big winner at this year's Metro Manila Film Festival.

The movie, which stars Charlie Dizon as an obsessed teenage girl who spent an unforgettable night with her idol, Paulo Avelino, won eight awards out of the nine it was nominated in at the Gabi Ng Parangal held on 27 December.

This include Best Actor and Actress for its aforementioned stars, Best Director for Jadaone, as well as Best Picture.

The second big winner of the night was Christian Acuña's "Magickland", a movie about four friends who were transported to the titular fantasy world after playing a popular mobile game of the same name. The film won among others Best Visual Effects, Best Production Design, and Best Musical Score.

The winners are as follows:

Best Picture: Fan Girl
(2nd place: The Boy Foretold by the Stars; 3rd place: Tagpuan)

Best Director: Antoinette Jadaone - Fan Girl
Best Screenplay: Fan Girl - Antoinette Jadaone

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Charlie Dizon - Fan Girl
Best Actor in a Leading Role: Paulo Avelino - Fan Girl

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Michael de Mesa - Isa Pang Bahaghari
Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Shaina Magdayao - Tagpuan

Best Child Performer: Seiyo Masunaga - The Missing

Best Cinematography: Fan Girl - Neil Daza
Best Editing: Fan Girl - Benjamin Tolentino

Best Original Theme Song: "Ulan" by Jhay Cura/Pau Protacio - The Boy Foretold by the Stars
Best Musical Score: Magikland - Emerzon Texon

Best Sound: Fan Girl - Vincent Villa
Best Production Design: Magikland - Ericson Navarro

Best Virtual Float: Magikland (Isa Pang Bahaghari in 2nd; Fan Girl in 3rd)

Best Student Short Film: Paano Maging Babae

Best Visual Effects: Magikland - Richard Francia, Ryan Grimarez (Central Digital Lab)

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Suarez: The Healing Priest

Gender Sensitivity Award: The Boy Foretold by the Stars

Special Jury Prize: Peque Gallaga
FPJ Memorial Award: Magikland
Manay Ichu Vera-Perez Maceda Memorial Award: Gloria Romero

(Photo Source: Inquirer)