Nora Aunor gets wild applause as Cinemalaya Best Actress

Nora Aunor with her first Cinemalaya Best Actress trophy for Hustisya/NPPA Images

Nora Aunor refused an offer to take a seat at the CCP Main Theater and chose to sit with scriptwriter Ricky Lee on the carpeted steps instead. But she took the place of honor at the 2014 Cinemalaya awards on Sunday, August 10, when she was proclaimed Best Actress (Directors Showcase) for her moving portrayal in Joel Lamangan’s “Hustisya.”

Her counterpart in the New Breed Category is Eula Valdez, whom the jury named Best Actress for “Dagitab.”

Robert Arevalo and Dante Rivero emerged Best Actor in the Directors Showcase and New Breed categories, respectively. Robert won for “Hari ng Tondo” while Dante was chosen for “1st Ko si 3rd.”

Cris Villonco and Barbie Forteza went on stage for their Best Supporting Actress awards for “Hari ng Tondo” (Directors Showcase) and “Mariquina” (New Breed), respectively.

Nicco Manalo, comedian-host Jose Manalo’s son, drew wild applause after winning Best Supporting Actor (Directors’ Showcase) for “The Janitor.” The audience responded just as enthusiastically when child actor Miggs Cuaderno was proclaimed Best Supporting Actor (New Breed) for “Children’s Show.”

Chosen Best Film were “Kasal,” “Asan Si Lolo Me?” and “Bwaya” in the Directors’ Showcase, Short Feature and New Breed categories, respectively.

Best Director honors went to Mike Tuviera (Directors Showcase) for the suspense-thriller “The Janitor,” Giancarlo Abrahan V (New Breed) for “Dagitab” and Kevin Ang Tan (Short Feature) for “Lola.”

Kidlat Tahimik, considered the Father of Philippine Indie Cinema, received the Gawad Balanghai award for Outstanding Contribution to Philippine Indie Filmmaking. The irreverent artist pulled a surprise by removing his robe to reveal the g-string he was wearing underneath.

The honor roll:

• Best Production Design: Harley Alcasid (Directors’ Showcase, “Kasal”) and Toym Imao (New Breed, “K’na The Dreamweaver”)

• Best Poster Design: Justin Besana for “Asintado”

• Best Cinematography: Neil Daza (New Breed) for “Bwaya” and Mycko David (Directors’ Showcase) for “Kasal”

• Audience Choice: “Lola” (Short Feature), “Sundalong Kanin” (New Breed) and “Hustisya” (Directors’ Showcase)

• Best Sound: Mike Idioma (Directors’ Showcase) for “The Janitor” and Jonathan Hee and Bryan Dumaguina (New Breed) for “Children’s Show”

• Best Musical Score: Richard Gonzales(Directors’ Showcase) for “Kasal” and Erwin Fajardo (New Breed) for “Bwaya”

• Best Editing: Tara Illenberger (Directors’ Showcase) for “The Janitor” and Gerone Centeno (New Breed) for “Children’s Show”

• Best Director: Mike Tuviera (Directors Showcase) for “The Janitor,” Giancarlo Abrahan V (New Breed) for “Dagitab” and Kevin Ang Tan (Short Feature) for “Lola.”

• Best Film: “Kasal” (Directors Showcase), “Asan Si Lolo Me?” (Short Feature) and “Bwaya” (New Breed)

• Best Screenplay: Aloy Adlawan and Mike Tuviera (Directors’ Showcase) for “The Janitor”, Giancarlo Abrahan V (New Breed) for “Dagitab” and Kevin Ang Tan for “Lola” (Short Feature)

• Special Acting Ensemble #Y (Elmo Magalona, Coleen Garcia, Sophie Albert and Kit Thompson)

• Special Jury Prize: K’na The Dreamweaver (New Breed), “Hari ng Tondo” (Directors’ Showcase) and “The Ordinary Things We Do” (Short Feature)

• Best Film: “Kasal” (Directors Showcase), “Asan Si Lolo Me?” (Short Feature) and “Bwaya” (New Breed)

• Best Actress: Nora Aunor (Directors’ Showcase) for “Hustisya” and Eula Valdez (New Breed)  for “Dagitab”

• Best Actor: Robert Arevalo for “Hari ng Tondo” (Directors’ Showcase)  and Dante Rivero for “1st Ko si 3rd” (New Breed)

• Best Supporting Actress: Cris Villonco for “Hari ng Tondo” (Directors Showcase) and Barbie Forteza for “Mariquina” (New Breed)

• Best Supporting Actor: Nicco Manalo for “The Janitor” (Directors’ Showcase) and Miggs Cuaderno for “Children’s Show” (New Breed)