Laguna's pride Ariella Arida wins Bb. Pilipinas-Universe 2013

The winners of the 2013 Bb. Pilipinas beauty pageant (L-R): Bb. Pilipinas 1st Runner Up Pia Wurtzbach, Bb. Pilipinas-Tourism Joanna Cindy Miranda, Bb. Pilipinas-Universe Ariella Arida, Bb. Pilipinas-International Bea Rose Santiago, and 2013 Supranational Philippines Mutya Johanna Datul (Voltaire Domingo/NPPA Images)

(UPDATE) Ariella Arida is crowned Bb. Pilipinas-Universe 2013.

The stunning lady who hails from Laguna bested 49 other contestants during the coronation night held at the Smart Araneta Coliseum on Sunday night, April 14. The 24-year-old winner is a Chemistry graduate from UP Los Baños.

Arielle impressed  judges during the Q & A portion with her answer on what  women can teach men.
"One lesson in life that women can teach men is being sensitive. Men are more logical when it comes to decisions. They're rational and straightforward. Unlike women, we use our hearts and we tend to get emotional when we make our decisions. Sensitivity is something that we women can teach to men," she said.

Read related story: How Shamcey Supsup’s weakness became an asset

Bea Santiago was crowned Bb. Pilipinas-International, Joanna Cindy Miranda was declared  Bb. Pilipinas-Tourism, while  Mutya Johanna Datul was named Bb. Pilipinas-Supranational. Pia Wurtzbach meanwhile, emerged as first runner-up.
2012 Bb. Pilipinas winners Janine Tugonon, Nicole Schmitz and Katrina Jayne Dimaranan passed their crowns  to their respective successors.
Also read: Lana Roi hurt over Bb. Pilipinas disqualification

In celebration of the pageant’s 50th year, former Bb.Pilipinas winners, including Miss Universe 1969 Gloria Diaz, Miss Universe 1973 Margie Moran,  Miss Universe 2010 fourth runner-up Venus Raj and Miss Universe 2011 third runner-up graced the event.
Photos from the pageant night

>>>See more photos: Binibining Pilipinas through the years

Bb. Pilipinas Charities Inc. Chair Stella Marquez-Araneta was also given a tribute.
The coronation night, hosted by Martin Nievera and Dawn Zulueta, was aired in ABS-CBN.


The special awardees are:

Miss Friendship - Lourenz Grace Remetillo
Miss Talent - Ana Carmela Aquino
Miss Photogenic - Mutya Johanna Datul
Best in National Costume- Alaine Baccay
Best in Swimsuit – Ariella Arida
Best in Evening Gown - Mutya Johanna Datul
Manila Bulletin Readers' Choice Awards - Ellore Noelle Punzalan
Bb. Petron - Joanna Cindy Miranda
Creamsilk Beyond Beautiful Woman - Joanna Cindy Miranda
Bb. San Mig Zero Fit & Sexy Body - Pia Wurtzbach
Bb. Avon - Bea Santiago
Bb. Philippine Airlines - Nicole Donesa
Bb. Pilipinas -PAGCOR - Imelda Sweighart 

The candidates: Bb. Pilipinas 2013