'Pokémon Sword & Shield', 'Luigi's Mansion 3' teased for Nintendo Direct, 'Assassin's Creed' and 'Overwatch' rumored

A Nintendo Direct video announced for September 4, 2019 is to last 40 minutes, with "Pokémon Sword & Shield" and "Luigi's Mansion 3" confirmed, and both team shooter "Overwatch" and a pair of "Assassin's Creed" games expected after retailer listings raised the possibility.

A 40-minute Nintendo Direct has been scheduled for September 4 at 3pm PT (6pm ET, 11pm BST, midnight Central Europe and South Africa, 3:30am India, 6am Philippines, Singapore, Malaysia and China, 7am South Korea and Japan, and 8am Sydney, Australia).


[Nintendo Direct 9.4.2019 - youtu.be/KNgmufIGhEg]

Nintendo announced the event on September 3 while naming November 15's "Pokémon Sword" and "Pokémon Shield" as well as October 31's "Luigi's Mansion 3" as featured titles.

In addition, the video is expected to provide a wider perspective on Nintendo Switch console releases over the coming four months.

Blizzard Entertainment's popular team-based hero shooter "Overwatch," first released in 2016, is thought to be destined for the Nintendo Switch after an Amazon listing was found last week.

More precisely, a protective Nintendo Switch case was seen on the site, claiming official blessing from both Nintendo and Blizzard, the powerhouse studio having previously re-released "Diablo III" for the portable console.

Ubisoft's "Assassin's Creed" franchise is also thought likely to pop up on the Switch sooner or later, perhaps sooner given the timing of a wayward retailer listing for 2013's 18th century Caribbean-set "Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag" and 2014's related "Assassin's Creed Rogue," since remastered in 2018 for the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.

Both were listed by Greek online retailer The Console Club before being pulled following discovery.

Other games previously announced for the Switch and due before the end of the year include mid-to-late September's "Overland," "The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening," "Untitled Goose Game" and "Dragon Quest XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age" and October's "The Witcher 3."