HKFA's nominees raise eyebrows

HKFA's nominees raise eyebrows

9 Feb – The 32nd Hong Kong Film Awards has finally released its nomination list and many were surprised with the selections of contenders.

According to Asianpopnews, one of the few questionable choices includes the nomination of "Love Lifting" actress, Elanne Kong as a Best Actress nominee. The actress, who was also surprised at being nominated, revealed, "I was still working in Shenzhen when I received the nomination news. I was only half awake when I received Chapman and Director Herman Yau's messages [about the nomination]."

The actress stated that she is more excited at being nominated than winning and considers it a victory to even get listed among the others.

Meanwhile, many people were also astonished that Aaron Kwok, who has received rave reviews for his performance in "Cold War", was not included in the Best Actor category, unlike his co-star, Tony Leung Ka-fai, who has made it into the nomination list and will be competing with Sean Lau, Nick Cheung, Tony Leung and Chapman To.

The winners will be announced at the 32nd Hong Kong Film Awards, to be held on 13 April 2013 at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre.

Here is the list of nominations for the awards' major categories:

Best Director:

Law Chi-Leung ("The Bullet Vanishes")
Sunny Luk and Longman Leung ("Cold War")
Dante Lam ("The Viral Factor")
Pou-Soi Cheang ("Motorway")
Pang Ho-Cheung ("Love In The Buff")

Best Film:

The Bullet Vanishes
The Viral Factor
Cold War

Best Actor:

Nick Cheung ("Nightfall")
Chapman To ("Vulgaria")
Sean Lau ("The Bullet Vanishes")
Tony Leung Ka-Fai ("Cold War")
Tony Leung Chiu-Wai ("The Silent War")

Best Actress:

Sammi Cheng ("Romancing In Thin Air")
Elanne Kwong ("Love Lifting")
Miriam Yeung ("Love In The Buff")
Zhou Xun ("The Great Magician")
Zhou Xun ("The Silent War")

Best Supporting Actor:

Ronald Cheng ("Vulgaria")
Gordon Lam ("Cold War")
Liu Kai Chi ("The Bullet Vanishes")
Alex Man ("The Bounty")
Chapman To ("Diva")

Best Supporting Actress:

Susan Shaw ("Vulgaria")
Dada Chan ("Vulgaria")
Jiang Yiyan ("The Bullet Vanishes")
Elaine Jin ("The Viral Factor")
Mavis Fan ("The Silent War")

Best Screenplay:

Pang Ho-Cheung, Lam Chiu-wing, Luk Yee-sum ("Vulgaria")
Pang Ho-Cheung, Luk Yee-sum ("Love In The Buff")
Law Chi-Leung, Yeung Sin-ling ("The Bullet Vanishes")
Longman Leung, Sunny Luk ("Cold War")
Alan Mak, Felix Chong ("The Silent War")