NATO countries suspend participation in CFE Treaty after Russia's withdrawal

NATO countries will suspend participation in CFE Treaty after Russian withdrawal
NATO countries will suspend participation in CFE Treaty after Russian withdrawal

Following Russia's announcement of its withdrawal from the Conventional Armed Forces in Europe (CFE) Treaty, all NATO countries have decided to suspend their participation in the treaty, a move that garnered unanimous support among NATO members.

Moscow's action was strongly condemned in an Allied statement released on Nov. 7.

Read also: Putin says Russia suspending participation in Strategic Offensive Reductions Treaty

“Russia's withdrawal is the latest in a series of actions that systematically undermines Euro-Atlantic security,” the statement said.

“Recognizing the role of the CFE as a cornerstone of the Euro-Atlantic security architecture, a situation whereby Allied States Parties abide by the Treaty, while Russia does not, would be unsustainable.”

Read also: Russia has not repositioned its nuclear forces after abandoning START I — Pentagon

The treaty participants reaffirmed their commitment to reducing military risks and preventing "misperceptions and conflicts," Transparency, verification, and reciprocity were cited as their key principles. They invited states that share these commitments to join their efforts.

Moscow confirmed its withdrawal from the CFE Treaty on Nov. 7, even though it had previously announced its intention to do so back in 2015. Russian dictator Vladimir Putin issued an order to break the agreement on May 10, 2023.

The CFE Treaty, signed in 1990 by NATO countries and members of the Warsaw Pact, aimed to establish a balance of conventional forces among participating nations at a reduced level and restrict the deployment of conventional weapons along the line of contact between the opposing blocs.

We’re bringing the voice of Ukraine to the world. Support us with a one-time donation, or become a Patron!

Read the original article on The New Voice of Ukraine