'Monarch: Legacy of Monsters' Is Stomping Your Way

monarch legacy of monsters
'Monarch: Legacy of Monsters' Release ScheduleApple

This year, the perfect guest is coming to your Thanksgiving dinner: Godzilla. Yes, the raging terror from the deep sea, who just leveled San Francisco and fought King Kong. He's the subject of Monarch: Legacy of Monsters, a new Apple TV+ series. It'll focus on a team of scientists that study these massive and terrifying beasts. (New most dangerous job alert!)

The MonsterVerse series also features an heavy-hitting team of creatives both in front of and behind the camera. We'll get both Kurt Russell and his son, Wyatt Russell (The Falcon and the Winter Soldier), playing the same character in different periods of time. WandaVision's Matt Shakman will serve as the director, carrying out a concept created by screenwriter Chris Black (Star Trek: Enterprise) and Marvel comic book writer Matt Fraction (Hawkeye). "I've wanted to do this my whole life," Black told CBR. "To suddenly be handed the keys to the Godzilla Car... It's a tremendous honor and responsibility, and it's just fun. We pinch ourselves on a daily basis with what we get to do."

The series kicks off with a two-episode premiere this Friday, November 17, before continuing weekly for 10 episodes through the new year. Though it takes place right after the events of the 2014 Godzilla reboot for Warner Bros., the series also plans to make references to 2017's Kong: Skull Island, as well as foreshadow upcoming films such as next year's Godzilla x Kong: The New Empire. Check out the release schedule below—and get ready for the king of the monsters to throw down this holiday season.

Monarch: Legacy of Monsters release schedule:

Episode 1: "Aftermath" — November 17

Episode 2: "Departure" — November 17

Episode 3: "Secrets & Lies" — November 24

Episode 4: "Parallels and Interiors" — December 1

Episode 5: "The Way Out" — December 8

Episode 6: "Terrifying Miracles" — December 15

Episode 7: "Will the Real May Please Stand Up?" — December 22

Episode 8: "Birthright" — December 29

Episode 9: "TBA" — January 5, 2024

Episode 10: "TBA" — January 12, 2024

You Might Also Like