Man City, Arsenal dominate as seven Premier League Player of the Season nominees are announced

·3-min read
Premier League nominees Credit: Alamy
Premier League nominees Credit: Alamy

Man City striker Erling Haaland and Arsenal midfielder Martin Odegaard are among the seven nominees for the Premier League Player of the Season.

Haaland is the likely winner of this award as he has been a sensation in the Premier League after joining Man City for around £51m from Borussia Dortmund last summer.

The Norway international has scored 36 goals in 33 league appearances this term and he has provided seven assists for his Man City teammates.

Odegaard meanwhile has been one of Arsenal’s best players as he has stepped up since becoming the club’s new captain. The 24-year-old has been involved in 22 goals in 35 Premier League outings this term.

Kevin De Bruyne won this award last season and he has been nominated again for his performances this season. If he wins, it will be the third time he has been named the league’s best player at the end-of-season awards.

Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford, Newcastle United’s Kieran Trippier and Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane are the other four nominees.

Haaland, Odegaard and Saka are also vying for the Premier League Young Player of the Season award. Gabriel Martinelli has joined two of his Arsenal teammates in being nominated for his award.

Brighton have enjoyed a magnificent season as they are challenging for the European places. Alexis Mac Allister and Moises Caicedo are being heavily linked with big moves elsewhere and they are also up for the YPOTS accolade.

Sven Botman – who joined Newcastle United last summer from Lille – is the final player in the running to be named the league’s Young Player of the Season.

The Dutchman has been in immense form for the Magpies – who are battling for a place in the top four – as he has taken no time to adapt to life in the Premier League.

READ MORE: You might not like Man City, but these neutrals are enjoying the football

The final set of nominees are in contention for Manager of the Season in the Premier League. Unsurprisingly, Pep Guardiola and Mikel Arteta make the six-man list.

The other four managers up for the award are Aston Villa’s Unai Emery, Brighton’s Roberto De Zerbi, Fulham’s Marco Silva and Newcastle United’s Eddie Howe.

Guardiola or Arteta are perhaps most likely to win this year’s award but you could not argue the result if any of the other four nominees run out victorious.

The winners of each award will be decided by a fan vote, with selections being submitted via the Premier League’s official website.

The vote closes at noon on May 22 and the winners will be announced just over a week later on May 30.

READ MORE: Where Quadruple bids failed… Spurs stumbles, dagger from Agger, Wigan woes, Nathan Jones?


The article Man City, Arsenal dominate as seven Premier League Player of the Season nominees are announced appeared first on