Kim So Yeon wins Best Actress at Baeksang Awards for her Penthouse role

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·3-min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Kim So Yeon winning Best Actress for TV at the 57th Baeksang Awards 2021.
Kim So Yeon winning Best Actress for TV at the 57th Baeksang Awards 2021.

One of the glitziest affairs akin to the red-carpeted Oscars in the US, South Korea's 57th Baeksang Arts Awards last week was a distinguished and glamorous affair, honouring and celebrating some of the year’s greatest achievements in Korean television, film, and theatre.

Hosted by popular host and comedian Shin Dong Yup and the 'Nation's First Love', actress Bae Suzy, the awards ceremony was broadcast from the KINTEX Hall in Ilsan.

In the television category, clinching the best actress award was Kim So Yeon, notorious for her portrayal of the femme fatale and cruel, villainous soprano in Penthouse, whose viewership ratings soared incredibly in its last season. SBS recently announced that it would be getting its third season, with filming already commencing on 27 April.

JTBC’s Beyond Evil won both Best Drama and Best Screenplay, and its star Shin Ha Kyun also claimed the award for Best Actor in the television category, beating out heavyweight A-listers like Kim Soo Hyun, Song Joong Ki and Penthouse's Um Ki Joong.

Rising star and actor Lee Do Hyun (Hotel Del Luna, Sweet Home) won Best New Actor for his drama series 18 Again, where he plays a young father who goes back in time to make amends to his family.

The Book Of Fish won the coveted Grand Prize in the film category, while Yoo Jae Suk won the Grand Prize in the television category. Yoo Jae Suk’s MBC variety show How Do You Play? also took home the award for Best Variety Show.

In the film category, Yoo Ah In won Best Actor for Voice Of Silence, while Jeon Jong Seo won Best Actress for The Call.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Television category:

Grand Prize: Yoo Jae Suk

Best Drama: “Beyond Evil”

Best Variety Show: “How Do You Play?”

Best Educational Show: “Archive Project – Modern Korea 2”

Best Director: Kim Chul Gyu (“Flower of Evil”)

Best Actor: Shin Ha Kyun (“Beyond Evil”)

Best Actress: Kim So Yeon (“The Penthouse”)

Best Supporting Actor: Oh Jung Se (“It’s Okay to Not Be Okay”)

Best Supporting Actress: Yeom Hye Ran (“The Uncanny Counter”)

Best New Actor: Lee Do Hyun (“18 Again”)

Best New Actress: Park Ju Hyun (“Extracurricular”)

Best Male Entertainer: Lee Seung Gi

Best Female Entertainer: Jang Do Yeon

Best Screenplay: “Beyond Evil” (Kim Soo Jin)

Best Art Direction: “It’s Okay to Not Be Okay” (Cho Sang Kyung)

TikTok Popularity Award: Kim Seon Ho (“Start-Up”), Seo Ye Ji (“It’s Okay to Not Be Okay”)

Film category:

Grand Prize: “The Book of Fish”

Best Film: “Samjin Company English Class”

Best Director: Hong Eui Jeong (“Voice of Silence”)

Best Actor: Yoo Ah In (“Voice of Silence”)

Best Actress: Jeon Jong Seo (“The Call”)

Best Supporting Actor: Park Jung Min (“Deliver Us from Evil”)

Best Supporting Actress: Kim Sun Young (“Three Sisters”)

Best New Actor: Hong Kyung (“Innocence”)

Best New Actress: Choi Jung Woon (“Moving On”)

Best New Director: Yoon Dan Bi (“Moving On”)

Best Screenplay: “The Day I Died: Unclosed Case” (Park Ji Wan)

Best Art Direction: “Space Sweepers” (Jung Sung Jin and Jung Chul Min)

Theatre category:

Baeksang Play Award: “We Are (Not) a Joke” (literal translation)

Best Actor: Choi Soon Jin (“We are [Not] a Joke”)

Best Actress: Lee Bong Ryeon (“Hamlet”)

Get more TV and movie news from Yahoo Lifestyle on our Entertainment page.

Also, watch more Lifestyle videos on Yahoo TV:

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting