Get ready for seven long weekends in Singapore in 2017

If you are planning a quick getaway to the region, you might want to circle your 2017 calendar as there will be seven long weekends to choose from.

The ministry of manpower on Tuesday (5 April) released the list of public holidays for 2017, with seven of them happening a day before or after the weekends.

Chinese New Year will fall on 28 January and 29 January, on a Saturday and Sunday, respectively.

New Year’s Day and Hari Raya Puasa (25 June) will happen on a Sunday, Hari Raya Haji (1 September) and Good Friday (14 April) will fall on a Friday, and Christmas Day and Labour Day are on a Monday.

Vesak Day, National Day and Deepavali will fall on a Wednesday.

According to the employment act, if a public holiday falls on a Saturday, an employee who is not required to work on that day will be entitled to another day off or an extra day’s salary in lieu.

(Ministry of Manpower)

Stay updated. Follow us on Facebook